All Topics / Creative Investing / Best place to invest cash?

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 29 total)
  • Profile photo of bob_jonesbob_jones
    Participant
    @bob_jones

Hi,

Just wondering the best place to invest cash?  My mattress is bulging :)

Also be better if the investment was somewhat anonymous, i.e. doesn't require a TFN to set it up.

I'm in Australia.

Thanks,

Bob

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Not sure what sort of returns you are after or what risk profile you have.

For mine – in an offset account linked to your home loan – the same as earning approx 6% tax free.

Profile photo of bob_jonesbob_jones
    Participant
    @bob_jones

Ok, let me clarify what I'm asking, I'm seeking an investment vehicle with low/moderate risk but which is largely anonymous, so no TFNs, etc, required to set it up.  I'm completely new to investing by the way, so may be shares are the option? 

The other idea I had was gold, I have no idea if its a good investment, but I assume meets the 'anonymous' requirements.

Bob

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Bob,

Not sure what sums of money you are looking at but you may wish to consider the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Act (2006).

This Act has a number of 'reporting' requirements that may impact on what you are planning to do.

I think it was Malcolm Fraser who suggested placing your hard earned under a mattress might be the way to go.

Participant
    @bob_jones

I've thought of that, but $100 tomorrow wont buy what $100 today can buy.  If i do use a safety deposit box type arrangement, what can I buy now to retain the value of the funds in ten years?  Cash depreciates.

Participant
    @bob_jones

I guess what I'm asking is, what can I buy thats small enough to fit in a box, but likely to retain its value in years to come?

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Diamonds, gold?

Send it overseas and borrow it back?