All Topics / Help Needed! / Depreciation Schedule + Positive Cashflow Property???

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of Todd GilesTodd Giles
    @todd-giles

G'day Everyone,

I'm new to the property investing world, and am still in the research and education stage. This is probably a stupid question but I've tried doing a Google search and also a search of past topics on here and haven't been able to find a definitive answer.

If you had a property that is currently cashflow positive (positively geared), can you utilize a depreciation schedule to further increase the cashflow?

thanks, and please be gentle :)

Todd giles

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Firstly depreciation is  dependent on the type of property, age and structure. So doesn't really matter if it's positive or negative geared…

To answer your question -"can you utilize a depreciation schedule to further increase the cashflow?" – YES you can, and this can really only be done if your on a PAYG income ( Ie your not self employed) – get your accountant to carry out a PAYG variation; this means instead of waiting till the end of the financial year to claim the $x benefit from depreciation, you can utilize this benefit earlier – at each pay ( your taxable income would be less).  

Regards

Michael 

Mick C | Shape Home Loans
    http://www.shapehomeloans.com.au/
    Email Me | Phone Me

Same Banks. Better Rates. Served With a Passion.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m
    Todd Giles wrote:

If you had a property that is currently cashflow positive (positively geared), can you utilize a depreciation schedule to further increase the cashflow?

Yep.

I personally haven't seen a deprecation schedule that hasn't paid for itself within the first year or two irrespective of the properties age so well worth it IMO.

Cheers

Jamie