All Topics / Help Needed! / Virgin investor.. Help Please!!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Lb 75Lb 75
    Participant
    @lb-75

Hi guys

This is my first time on a property investment forum so please bear with me.

My situation

I have just bought a property with a 3 bedroom house  in melbourne in a place called laverton.I purchased the property for 325k and it came with plans for a 2 bedroom unit on the back of the property which has council planning approval.

The house is currently being rented out at the moment but i will be movin in(hopefully for no longer then 6 months)  as i have applied for the first home owners grant.

what i was thinking of doing after my 6 months was maybe buiding the unit in the rear and then subdividing.then either renting both propertys or selling one and sitting on the other.

This is my first property investment and im pretty sure there are loads of experienced investors here so i just need to know if i am on the right track…No sure how CGT would effect my plan either or even if it is a good plan.

any advice would be much appreciated.

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Hi Louis,

Whats the resale value of both properties once the unit in the back goes up and the subdivision is complete?

Regards

Shahin

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of Lb 75Lb 75
    Participant
    @lb-75

Hi shahin

Thanks for your reply.

To be honest with you I'm not really sure.but I have bein looking on real estate.com.au and for something similar to the back unit is going for around 220k and the front house would probably be around 260k I'm guessing as it wouldn't have the back yard anymore.

Do you think I need to get the front house properly valued without the back section and also get the unit valued of the plan?