All Topics / Help Needed! / Melbourne – Inner City Studio Apartments

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of iljayiljay
    @iljay

Hi All,

I am looking at some studio apartments in and around Melbourne CBD. There are quite a few available in a 150-170K range with weekly rental returns in high 200's low 300's. On the surface these returns appear very attractive, but being a property newbie, I wonder if I am overlooking something.

Does anyone have any experience with these types of properties? Are they worth looking at/waste of time? What are the things to look out for?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Ilya

Profile photo of WomeninPropMelbWomeninPropMelb
    @womeninpropmelb

Sounds like a great return on the face of it. 

Do all your figures- you will need to take into account body corporate- if its City Central then I might assume it is high rise so there will be body corporate and other costs associated.

I had similar type investment for sale close to university but could not sell as the figures when all was taken into account was not such a great investment. 

Is it studio apartment? How many bedrooms? Car parking? Who will be your target tenant? Can they afford this rental?

Call some agents as a prospective tenant and see what you get for that sort of rental as well. See how it compares and what you get for your money. 

Is it established? Or off the plan? Have others been sold in this complex?

Just a few questions to consider.

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Hi Ilya,