All Topics / Value Adding / Does extra bedrooms would increase the value of property?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of Eddywang55Eddywang55
    Participant
    @eddywang55

I am fairly new with property renovation strategy, after reading some property investment magazine, thinking to start  with a small and basic cosmetic uplift to a house, wondering if I add any additional bedrooms under existing structure, would it helps to increase the value of property? for example building additional two bedrooms at unused ground level (some old houses have lot's of unused space underneath.) what do you suggest? anyone have similar experience ? Thanks.

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Hi Eddy,

Absolutely – and if its not bedroom I would consider some form of living area or storage area. What is the sqm?

An investor I manage did something quite similar and made a very handy profit (Capital Growth). Make sure its not a DIY and you engage a licensed builder to give you advise re foundation work.

Regards

Shahin 

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of xdrewxdrew
    Participant
    @xdrew

Some of the best places I have ever renovated upwards in value were 2 bedroom houses in good suburbs with large long blocks of land to work with.

The answer is yes .. you need not only to just plop extra bedrooms on .. but for each 2 extra bedrooms you need to add one toilet and possibly another bathroom (sub in a walk thru ensuite).

However if you add extra space .. make sure you also qualify that with matching living conditions. A four bedroom house with only one single living area up the front still is .. kind of useless to just about everyone. Also a four bedroom house usually demands a larger kitchen space simply because of the catering traffic.