All Topics / Help Needed! / First IP Western Sydney – Granny Flat (Help Please).

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of hadomanhadoman
    @hadoman

I have recently commenced looking for my first IP in Western Sydney which is the area I live. I’m considering a house with a large block which has the potential of a Granny Flat.

Areas of consideration are Old Mt Druitt, North St Marys and Doonside. Can you consider an other locations up to $400K.

Can anybody offer advice on Council rules regarding Granny Flats? As an investor what type of property should I be looking for to hold a Granny Flat?

I’m new to this seen and any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Colin

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Hi Hadoman,

Just a few things to hopefully get you started. I have worked on a few applications whereby the investor has a property of say $350k. They spend $80k for a GF. Therefore you imagine that the property would be worth $430k. However when the lender's valuer values the property it often comes a little less say $400k. So do not assume that the construction cost of $x will certainly increase the value of the property by $x. This is important when is comes to finance. 

Secondly, you often do not need to go to council to get approval for GF's.

Take a look at this site for the conditions:

http://www.legislation.nsw.gov.au/fragview/inforce/epi+364+2009+sch.1+0+N?tocnav=y

Also re area – try looking at Mt Druitt and somewhere close to the station – there is plenty of investor activity their due to the rental yields and low entry points.

Hope that helps you in the right direction.

Regards

Shahin

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of hadomanhadoman
    @hadoman

Hello Shahin.

Thanks for the info.