All Topics / Help Needed! / New to the forum

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of mattsmatts
    Participant
    @matts

Hi guys,

This is my first post as I'm new to the site, I have enjoyed looking at all the forum topics.

I'm new to the investing world and I was just after some words of advice.

We currently only have our PPOR which has just been valued by the bank at $300k. Our mortgage is $240k.

Just after some ideas to begin our journey. We have no real attachment to the house as it is not where we want to live in the future. So we are happy to rent it out ( it would be negatively geared, ideally we are looking for  +ve cashflow) and move to somewhere else a bit bigger to rent ( have a family of 4). Open to all alternatives.

Thanks in advance,

Matts

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Welcome Matts

Can you tell us a bit about this house of yours?  ie How many bedrooms, which town & state it is in, and how big is the backyard.

JacM

Jacqui Middleton | Middleton Buyers Advocates
    http://www.middletonbuyersadvocates.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

VIC Buyers' Agents for investors, home buyers & SMSFs.

Profile photo of mattsmatts
    Participant
    @matts

Hi jacm,
    The house is in grovedale, it’s a suburb of geelong in victoria. It has 3 bedrooms and the backyard would be approximately 10x10m

Participant
    @jacm

Right ok.  Well there are a few options I suppose:

1. Sell your house to pull out your equity, and by a four bedder. 

2.  Rent your house out, and you live in a rental.  You'd have six years to move back into your house after which you could still sell it capital gains tax free.  If however you remain absent from your home for more than six years, or if you buy something else and live in it, then the exemption no longer applies.

3. Rent your house out with the intention of you living in rentals permanently.