All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Documentation for SMSF

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of kong71286kong71286
    Participant
    @kong71286

Hi guys,

Has anyone had much experience with setting up a SMSF?

I am relatively new to this, and the main reason I would like to set it up is to invest in Steve's USA Property Fund

So far I've setup a company online to act as corporate trustee for the SMSF, and am awaiting for esuperfund.com to process my application which could take up to 4 weeks

NAT13080 form requires the following documentations:

• a letter from the trustee stating that this is a complying fund, or retirement savings account (RSA) or, for a self managed superannuation fund, a copy of documentation from the Tax Office confirming the fund is regulated
    • written evidence from the fund stating that they will accept contributions from my employer, and
    • details about how my employer can make contributions to this fund

What I am unsure about is who will be generating these documents and how to do so? I.e. if I am responsible for writing the letter, how would I word any declarations made, as director of the company acting as corporate trustee for the SMSF?

"I John Smith, director of ABC Pty Ltd, declare that JS SMSF is a complying fund"?

Many thanks,

Kong

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

I had my accountant set everything up for me and have since purchased a property under my smsf.  Indeed I had to produce all the kinds of documents you are talking about, and my accountant sorted it all out.  If esuperfund is setting you up, why is it taking 4 weeks and why are they not handling all these things for you?

Jacqui Middleton | Middleton Buyers Advocates
    http://www.middletonbuyersadvocates.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

VIC Buyers' Agents for investors, home buyers & SMSFs.

Profile photo of kong71286kong71286