All Topics / Finance / No Bank loyalty anymore !!

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of sgoodessgoodes
    @sgoodes

Gone are the days of banks being loyal. I've been banking with CBA for 30 yrs, had 5 successful mortgages, perfect credit history and earn in excess of 180k pa and been employed in the same job for 10 yrs. Recently lost everything thanks to my ex wife to the tune of 350k + inc my home. Getting back on my feet financialy and have savings of approx 30k with a small P/L. Im trying to get back in the real estate market either with an IP or new PPOR. Have found a mortgagee sale on a beautiful home. Bank has valued at 470k and i have a chance to buy it for 400-410k. Called my bank (CBA) to see what they could do in regards to deposit and they may aswell have said "go take a jump". Come back when you have 20%.
    Im livid at the treatment after all these yrs of being a loyal CBA customer only to be told they wont help.
    Closing all accounts and taking my business elsewhere.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

I recommend you speak with a broker.

Not only will they save you a lot of legwork they can also 'assess' your situation to see whether or not borrowings are possible and, if borrowings are possible, can get your structure right moving forward.

Profile photo of PLCPLC
    Participant
    @plc

What was the reason CBA have given in requiring 20% deposit?

PLC | Phoenix Loan Consulting
    Email Me | Phone Me

Melbourne based Mortgage Broker | Making Finance Simple

Profile photo of xdrewxdrew
    Participant
    @xdrew

I agree with Derek.

First thing any bank or financial institution will do is check your credit history. And the number of times you've applied for a loan and been rejected will show up on your credit record.

Commbank is incredibly conservative on their lending practises inhouse. However .. going through brokers you may find that commbank issued funds indirectly are actually easier to get.