All Topics / Help Needed! / Direction Needed

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of sgoodessgoodes
    @sgoodes
    GDay all,
    I'm new to the IP game and have spent the last 3 mths solid researching and researching and then some. Obviously dont want to fail on my first attempt so I'm putting it out there for some advice.
    Thanks to my lovely ex wife, I have to start all over again financially and at 48 it can be a bit daunting. My goal is to start planning for my financial future through property investing.
    To start out i am looking at under $200k with a decent return to build some collateral to allow me to buy further properties. I've seen some ppl have a portfolio that is based wholly around properties under $200k and are doing pretty well out of it. I think its called being a "Slum lord" which if it works then why not, I say. In saying that does anyone know of a suitable area to start looking in my price range. I have been researching Elizabeth / Munno Para / Salisbury / Kalgoorlie Boulder / Whyalla but am just struggling a bit to pin piont one to get started. I think my brain is becoming clouded due to research and information overload and would really appreciate any advice I can get.
    Cheers Steve

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Steve

I don't know about the areas so can't offer much help there.

What I can recommend, and what's worked for me and quite a few clients, is searching for properties that you can add value to. Preferably something that only requires cost effective, cosmetic renovations. This way, you can manufacture your own equity instead of waiting for capital growth to kick in.

You can then leverage this newly created equity to move forward with the next purchase….and so on.