All Topics / Help Needed! / Positive gearing/negative gearing

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of TesstTesst
    @tesst

Hi, I am new to investing and this forum. I have bought an investment property/apartment which I will be borrowing the full amount 500K plus stamp duty etc; equity is in our home in which we have $60K left owing. I am a low income earner 25K with a husband who is a high income earner. I am wanting the title in my name and the mortgage will be in both names. I am signing the contract next week. I have been advised we should put the property in my husbands name to get the tax benefits of negative gearing. I have 8K Super, late 40’s and would like some financial security for myself and not be reliant on my husbands Super, income etc. I would like to create my own wealth. Am I making a financial mistake for our family not reaping the tax benefits of negative gearing. It will be a stretch to pay existing mortgage/investment loan and raising teenagers. Is positive gearing an option? The investment is purely my idea/desire for financial freedom as a female who has worked and supported the family for 20 years. I am taking responsibility for this decision and my husband will be supporting this, am I making the right choice?.
    Tesst

Profile photo of RyanJDRyanJD
    @ryanjd

Have you already purchased the property as you say you have but then you say you'll be borrowing the full amount?

You need to speak with a solicitor about this and have him go over the contract plus other stuff. So much stuff needs organising before hand. What happens if you two split up and the title is in your name but mortgage is in both your names?

You also need to make sure your purchasing the best property for your circumstances Eg. Capital growth and/or income.

Positive gearing is when the rent covers all your mortgage payments, interest, repairs, insurance, strata fees, rates yadda yadda.