All Topics / Help Needed! / How do I buy this house?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of tiggietiggie
    Participant
    @tiggie

Hi Newbie here

Just split from partner but still able to live rent free in his house till I find somewhere to live. My property is tenanted until Jan but tenants are looking to move out earlier if they can, worst case it will be Jan.
    I want to do some reno work on my home when they move out and then sell it as I don’t want to live there again. It was my PPor for 10 years but rented out the last 2.
    My house is currently worth about $400K, down from $420k in Jan. I’m hoping with reno’s I can get about $450. I owe $100k on it.
    I am self employed and made a loss last fin year, so don’t have a steady income right now, so don’t have good prospects for getting a loan.

I have just found a place I want to buy which would be perfect for me and my kids. It’s been on the market for 6 months and they want $469k for it. Its empty and if they don’t sell in next few weeks they will rent it out. I think it’s prob worth about $449K and I would like to offer about $445.
    but
    I don’t have any money until I sell my house
    I may not get another loan because of poor performing business
    I was thinking of offering to rent it until I sell my home but it would cost me about $460 a week renting versus free rent where I am. Partner said I can stay here until Jan if I have to.
    Is there a way I can somehow secure the house now so I don’t miss out? It’s doing my head in thinking of ways and I’m already emotionally exhausted because of the relationship split.
    Thanks so much

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Tiggie

Firstly welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time with us.