All Topics / Finance / Borrowing for third or fourth property

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of coolra344coolra344
    Participant
    @coolra344

Hi there, I am just starting out (havent actually brought my first investment property yet) but I am currently making some sort of plan. I am just wanting a bit of help with a few things. In Steves books he talks about putting a minimal amount of deposit forward (10%) and having a high Return on Cash ratio which sounds good. However arent the banks going to be more and more reluctant to lend 80 or 90% of the house value as you increase your porfolio? I mean, if you are paying the mortgage off over 20 years I am unsure how they would keep re lending until you have 130? This could be a stupid comment but I imagine this is why alot of investors only have 1 or 2 properties. Some advice or answers would be much appreciated :)

Ryan

Profile photo of gibbo1gibbo1
    Participant
    @gibbo1

Hi,

What a good broker will do is place your initial properties with lenders with tighter credit policies, as you borrow more then use other borrowers that have credit policies that allow more properties, take a higher amount of rental income into consideration, etc.

Regards

Gibbo

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Ryan

Firstly welcome to the forum and I hope your time with us.

As long as your loans are structured correctly from day 1 there is absolutely no reason why you go cant borrow 90% of the purchase price of each new Investment property.

Whilst lenders and in turn mortgage insurers have a monetary cap on the maximum loan exposure if it done properly you will be a while before you hit this.

The way to go forward when looking at buying multiple properties is to have cash flow / income to service the loans as well as equity to enable you to fund the deposits.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender