All Topics / Help Needed! / Property Development contract

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of kris07kris07
    Participant
    @kris07

Hi All

Finally making the leap to undertake in my first property development.

The property is in Vic and it involves building 2 units/townhouses behind an existing dwelling.

I intend to engage an architect who will be responsible for the e2e development, drafting, applying for plans/permits and the project management and delivery piece.

As I am very new to this, I would greatly appreciate if you guys can share your experiences in terms of clauses I need to ensure are included in the contract so that I am protected.

Without doubt that going into this project I will make some errors and thats just part of the learning process, however I’m keen to learn from others where possible and try avoid costly mistakes.

Any helps, guidance would be much appreciated.

Many thanks.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

is this the contract to purchase land or to build?

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of kris07kris07
    Participant
    @kris07

The contract is to ultimately build. The land is already purchased whereby I am receiving rent from the existing property.

Profile photo of christianbchristianb
    Participant
    @christianb

Your contract is likely to be in two parts:

1. The planning, design, documentation, project management and subdivision.
    2. The building contract.

There are both legal and practical reasons for this.