All Topics / Help Needed! / First home buyer – Basic Q’s and broker recommendation

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of PJMedlockPJMedlock
    @pjmedlock

My first post here, been having a read through the forums and picking up some useful info and advice from other threads. Thanks to all who post here and who willingly help out and share their knowledge.

My situation is that I am looking to purchase my first home (to be my primary place of residence) in the Perth metro area.
    I have some genuine savings in the bank – about 3% of my intended purchase price, saved over a period of time.
    I am eligible for FHOG.
    I have stable income and employment history.
    I have stable rental history through an agent/property manager.

I have spoken informally to a couple of brokers and I am getting conflicting information about the possibility of finding a 97% loan vs. the need for me to build up a 5% deposit.

I am new to all of this and looking for any ideas people might have on the likelihood of obtaining 97% finance and also whether somebody could give me a recommendation for a good broker who might be able to help somebody in my position. As I mentioned, I am in Perth, so a local broker might be handy, however in this day and age, I suppose it doesn’t really matter where they are based.

Any help/pointers for this rookie would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Paul.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Paul

Welcome aboard.

95% is the max – but you can have mortgage insurance added on top.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

don’t know about buying with only a 3% deposit…
    As Jamie mentioned it’s MAX 95% + LMI = ~97%