All Topics / Finance / New investor – loan structure

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 25 total)
  • Profile photo of PFrankyXPFrankyX
    @pfrankyx

I am new to investing and doing my finances now to buy my 1st inv prop. I am receiving conflicting information and need some direction on which way to go re loan structure

My situation:
    PPOR – value $650k / loan $470k ($180k equity)

Looking at buying property approx $350k (loan $370 incl costs)

My long term plan is to buy 1 property every 2 years and want the easiest loan structure to do this.

I am wanting to use the equity in my home to leverage into my first inv property. I am aware that i may pay a little mortgage insurance.

The most important thing here is I want to structure the new loans to ensure it benefits me, not the financial people giving me the advice.

My current broker has advised to maintain existing P/I loan and add the new property under the one. Therefore total loan will be $470k+$370k = $840,000 with total value of $1,000,000 (84%)

This seems to make sense, but i believe to add a new property, i need to get all properties valued, which over time may cost a bit, and may get messy at tax time.

Or…

I have been advised of another way by a separate company to rewrite the home loan as interest only, pull the borrowable equity of $50k out of home as an I/O investment loan and use to cover deposit & costs, with the remaining balance being the I/O investment property loan.

Firstly, i am concerned by this to not paying my non-deductible down by having interest only, but it does seem to make more sense to have a separate I/O equity loan to use as deposit & costs and another loan for the property.

I am aware they want me to write all loans under them so they get the commissions, i’m not fussed by this, as long as i am getting the benefit.

Please help here as i am now confused as to what will be the best option for me ‘long term’ and also the best way of getting the highest tax benefit.

Thanks