All Topics / Help Needed! / BEGINNER!!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of ChanelleChanelle
    Participant
    @chanelle

Hi everyone I’m new to property investing & propertyinvestment.com, so please be patient.
    I’m looking to buy vacant land in the western suburbs of Sydney & put a granny flat on it & rent it out until I may develop or sell at a later stage.
    Is this a wise idea or is there anything else you would suggest? Also would anyone please be able to give me some insight into what suburbs
    they think I should be looking at & why. I have been looking around Camden & Penrith areas.

Thank you & sorry for being vague!

Chanelle

Profile photo of NHGNHG
    @nhg

Hi, and welcome!

There's a number of individuals on this forum with properties in Sydneys West who may be able to provide some useful advice :)

First question, is this purely and investment? What are your goals/aims?

My own personal experience has been the high cost of construction and current land values in the area make construction a poor investment at the moment. I am constructing 2 granny flats in St Marys and tended to find vacant lots with just granny flats were unviable and overprice by the seller.

I have however found a good deal just last month, a brick veneer house with a second dwelling for $320k (all fees inclusive). Needs about $20k worth of work tho. It took a lot of stressful negotiating, I had to find a place for his mother who was the current tenant to live, thus the lower price (tho in hindsight could have bargained harder).

My focus was on areas in close proximity to train stations, and other amenities, (St Marys, Kingswood, Werrington, Penrith etc) those areas ticked all my boxes, tho a few individuals have made great deals in places like Tregear etc.