All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice on early possession and mortgage issues

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of MAYLEMAYLE
    @mayle

Hi there,

Just wondering if anyone can advise on the following:

My partner and I are due to settle on the sale of our property on 1st May, we are also sue to settle on the purchase of our next property on the same date.  The contract on our sale is unconditional.  However…… we are having some problems with the finance approval for our purchase. 

I am a full time student and my partner is due to start his new job on 23rd April.  We submitted his employment letter to our mortgage broker as requested.  Now the mortage provider is requesting payslips before approving the mortgage – which of course we won't have by the time our settlement date is due.  We have it in writing that the mortgage will be approved when they receive a payslip.

During the process of applying for the new mortgage our broker has been VERY optimistic that we would have no problems obtaining finance.  In fact the vendor's real estate agent and both conveyancers seem to have got the impression a fortnight ago that we already had finance approved when we did not!  Of course the broker denies telling them anything of the sort!  The upshot of all this is that we are potentially going to have to request a delay of settlement from the vendors who by all accounts are pretty annoyed that they have apparently been misled by our broker as to our financial situation.