All Topics / Help Needed! / Subdivideing corner block

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of first time investerfirst time invester
    Participant
    @first-time-invester

Hello all,                                                                                                                                                                    This is my first time on the forum. I'm hopeing  that I can get some advice regarding my situation.  I live on a corner block. The home is weatherboard and approximately 60 years old. It has been renovated on the inside in the past 6 years. The outside needs a good decent paint. I have a home loan of $160k. I'm in two minds as to pull the house down and build 3 units. 1 to live in and 2 to rent. Or to subdivide and build 1 unit at the back to live in, and rent the house.  I have no idea of the costs involved. I would have to borrow. My only concern is that because of my age (54) that I may have problems getting a loan. Looking forward to your suggestions.

Profile photo of Stacey SurveyingStacey Surveying
    Participant
    @stacey-surveying

Hi,

Welcome to the forum, we hope you find it useful here!

For financial queries there’s plenty of people on here who can help out, I can recommend Aaron_C off the top of my head.

The first questions I’d be asking though with subdivisions is the feasibility of the project. Eg. Where is it located? How much area have you got to work with? Are there any overlays? What is the zoning etc.?

There’s a couple of town planners on here who can provide detailed feasibility studies on developments at a nominal cost. As a surveyor I can give a simple idea of the feasibility and council fees involved, although am pretty useless when it comes to building costs!

Cheers,

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi FTI

Welcome to the forum and hope you enjoy your time with us.