All Topics / Help Needed! / New to investing

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 24 total)
  • Profile photo of lila77lila77
    @lila77

Hi, I'm new to property investing and in the first stages of trying to find my first residential investment property. I have been reading a few books, looking at the property market (online mostly) and trying to make a decision on whether to use a buyers advocate or similar. Today I spoke with a 'buyers advocate' (Gwen Cahill). She buys new (turn key) investment properties and ensures me she sources these in the best upcoming suburbs around Australia. She seemed genuine but I can't help being skeptical of everyone that I meet. I can't help but think the developer is making buckets and the buyers advocate is getting a kickback (which she is how she gets paid)  Because these are new properties she said that you'd settle on the land first but borrrow the first 6months worth of interest payments (using an essI/O loan) so the repayments aren't coming out of my pocket. Is this something that an experienced investor would do? Seems at little stupid to me, but again I'm new to this "game". 
    I guess any general comments about using so called experts or just using my own research would be very helpful at this stage. Thanks.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Lila

Welcome to the forum.

I'd be skeptical as well. To me, someone that's selling new properties is a glorified real estate agent rather than an independent buyers agent.

If you're considering using a buyers agent, hone  in on a particular area where you'd like to invest and then engage a good BA in that location. Check that they're accredited with the industry body – http://www.rebaa.com.au/

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of lila77lila77
    @lila77