All Topics / Finance / Getting finance for your first IP/property on apprentice wages D:

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of lachlan.charterislachlan.charteris
    Participant
    @lachlan.charteris

Hey Everyone !
    as you will most likely figure out , i am a young lad with a huge lack of knowledge, but im learning (:

What my question is ;
    Whats the best way to get the banks/private lenders to even look at me to get a loan to construct my first property.

My Situation;
    I am turning 18 in a week  , and in order to get the best start in investing/developing i would love to hear you opinion.
     I am an apprentice carpenter , i only earn around $400 a week , and have 20k in savings, no debt either .
    I am wanting to purchase a block of land in a already established area of my home town(Townsville,QLD) and build a pair of townhouses to start my +ve cashflow portfolio (sounds good in theory) . On my wage i could probably get a loan to purchase the land , and if i ask my parents reallllllllyy nicely i could maybe get them to borrow from banks for the contrustion (they are behind me 100% )  i am most likely coming across as extremly nieve, but i would love to get some feedback on where i can start. . . . 

Regards,
    Lachlan

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

Your wage is not high enough to consider a land + build loan….land and build loan require a lot more deposit + slightly better serviceability for the lender to be “comfortable”.

Also are you planning on doing ” owners builders”ie you contract the build job out your self? if so that requires a 20% deposit …
    If anything on your current wage + given your a apprentice only, you could only look at existing properties and buying it as an investment so it has the extra rental income + consider using your parent’s place as a guarantor as your deposit may not be enough- how much you can afford – don’t know need more data.