All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Loans and PPOR

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of KH85KH85
    @kh85

Hi,

I am new to property investing and I am looking to purchase a property that will be an investment with the view to purchase another one when I have enough equity. I am not sure whether to apply for the First Home Owners Grant/loan or an Investment loan from a tax perspective and also to fund future investment properties.

Background Info:

I am eligible for the First Home Owners Grant which will entitle me to approx $16 500 savings (exempt from stamp duty and they give you $7000 cash towards the home loan). Obtaining the grant means that the property is my Principle Place of Residence  (PPOR) and I would have to live in it for 6 months meaning I would have no rental income for 6 months (around $7 800- at $300 p/w rent). This would still give me a benefit of $9500 even if I didn’t have a rental income for 6 months. However if a property is my Principal Place of Residence are there certain items that are non tax-deductible and therefore would not be ideal if I were to rent it out?

I would like to establish:

1. Whether it is possible for me to borrow as a first home buyer and then rent it out after occupying it for 6 months?

2. If not can you change loans over to an investment loan?

Any other advice on financing and tax?

Cheers

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi KH85

Welcome to the forum.

Purchasing the property as a PPOR can be beneficial given the concessions available (as you already know).

In terms of whether the bank will lend to you on the basis of it being a PPOR or an IP will depend on your borrowing capacity. A decent broker will be able to look into your situation and advise accordingly.