All Topics / Help Needed! / Just bought first IP!

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of laminarialeslaminariales
    Participant
    @laminariales

Hi Everyone!

I bought a house yesterday. It is purely investment, never to be PPOR.

As i am new to this i do not have a mortgage broker lined up.

So the real estate agent who sold the property of course gave my number to a mortgage broker (e-select) who called me. I thought I might as well hear what he can offer. So he is coming over tomorrow morning to discuss my options.

Is there anything i should watch out for regarding mortgage brokers or should i be pretty safe in assuming this guy will get me a decent deal? I have already been to a few banks to see what they offer/ have got pre-approval.

With regards to the loan itself, after reading up (on these forums in particular) it seems an IO loan with 100% offset account would be perfect, given that i don’t own a house, have a moderately high income, work pays for accommodation and i have no other debts. Also, i would be borrowing 90%. Does that sound about right? I would have gone with ME of the banks i visited due to a .45% interest reduction as I have superannuation with them.

Thanks in advance for help!

Regards,

Marcus

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Marcus

Congrats on your first IP.

Personally, I'd look to use a broker independent of the selling agent.

ME aren't the most competitive lender out there – from memory, their offset product is a tad on the expensive side.

There's a few decent brokers on this forum that could help.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Marcus,

Well done on you rpurchase.

As Jamie has said grab a broker who is a little more upmarket than ME.