All Topics / Help Needed! / New Year Moving forward with Investments is hard

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of lulu1lulu1
    Participant
    @lulu1

Hi start of a New Year I have been reflecting on last year and my unsuccessful year of not purchasing I own 1 PPOR and have 1 investment in the Hunter bought 2010 I swear I must be the biggest procrastinator out there I have been sitting at home this week talking to myself (sounds like I am going mad NOT ) and reflecting on how much time I spend on the Computer looking and looking reading and more reading all the wonderful stories of people moving forward ………. Does anybody else have trouble choosing an area or is it just me.
    My education is all self taught I havent spent money on Classes , I have bought the odd report or 2 , I always try to watch Your Money Your Call every week, I read the forums weekly , I buy the property magazines monthly and I still cant move forward with 2nd investment property

I obviously am to picky This is what I look for purchase between 250K – 320K rental of 6% plus House preferably 5-15 years old neat tidy so I am not having a maintenance issue obviously want some growth in the 5-7 years of owning property

Am I being unrealistic Not asking about where to buy maybe just a few helpful hints
    Thanks In Advance

Profile photo of NHGNHG
    @nhg

I bought a place in St Marys <2 months ago in that price range, newly renovated (bathroom kitchen).
    Penrith Council is fixing up the area, there are schools, shops, transport, uiversity, hospital, etc. within 2km radius.

Off the top of my head the numbers were something like:
    6% return on 100% of loan amount (including stamp duty and all associated costs)
    6.5% return on 90% of loan amount
    Current Cashflow on 90% loan is -$50/week (after paying agent fees, insurances, water, etc.)

After some improvements it will be approximately: