All Topics / Value Adding / My first step into investing. Reno’s!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of AdisKayAdisKay
    Participant
    @adiskay

Hi, Its easy enough to find any property in poor condition right? By trade i’ve been doing interior construction for years now, i have a supplier for various material (framing, plasterboard, skirting etc) and obviously a wide range of tools & lots of know-how. I’m sure i could do just about all the labour myself. My question however.. How can i be positive the property will result in profit after a make-over? Is it possible for it not to jump in value after a reno? has this ever happened before, Someone buys a house, spends money on it & has no return? ? Just to get started i would feel more comfortable doing the labour myself since this will be purely to minimise the reno expense as much as possible.

Any advice or comments will be greatly appreciated.

Profile photo of Mick CMick C
    Participant
    @shape

It’s very common to see ppl spend say 100k on renovations and see the it increase the value by only 50-70% of that 100k…

1. they do the wrong type of ” investors” renovations – the type that adds NO value to the place…instead it’s more a personal preference – ie having a diff colur roof, changing the roof type having a full alarm system, re-painting a perfectly good looking place to a particular color they like- the list is endless…

2. Over budgeting- cost of renovations is more then the market

3. Lack of research on the AREA- not all property depending on the area/location would bring a higher price when renovations are done; because just be aware “market and valuation” price is based on comparative sales….you need something to compare to!
    Ie Building a pergola; where the market in the area normally don’t have fancy pergolas…

Regards
    Michael

Mick C | Shape Home Loans
    http://www.shapehomeloans.com.au/
    Email Me | Phone Me