All Topics / Overseas Deals / Take advantage of a Family business presence in Fort Worth… or better off going to Florida Fort Myers?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of janemcewenjanemcewen
    @janemcewen

Hi There,

I am new to the USA property market, infact I am yet to purchase my first property but am planning a trip in Jan 2012 to do so.

I have been doing a lot of research on where to buy and it seems there are a wealth of oppotunities it just depends on your stratergy. My stratergy is to gain a positive cash flow yield of around 10-15% and capital gains over the medium to long term. I can see this this is possible in many areas.

At this stage I have broken my areas down to 2 and have a few reasons why, see below:

Fort Myers:

This is where Steve and Tommy have been investing and I can see great potential in both cash flow and capital gains . Fort Myers seems to be growing in population and employment oppotunities are opening up more. My concern here is, is it too late?
    Are there already too many foreign investors in this area creating too much competition?

Fort Worth:

Fort Worth is home to many large corporations head offices and also the population growth is quite good, for this, and other reasons- there seems to be some good deals for both positive cash flow and capital gains here too.

My father has recently opened a branch of his company in the US in Forth Worth which will give me an advantage I believe as I will have access to his accountant, lawyer and realtor in Fort Worth, not to mention free accomadation whilst in the US. Also if something goes wrong I have the security of having one of his staff members on the ground in Forth Worth while I am thousands of miles away in Australia.

Can some one please help advise me on whether or not they think having someone there in Fort Worth is a worthwhile advantage or should I broaden my investment horizons to other states like Florida?

I appreciate your advice

Thanks