All Topics / Help Needed! / Using equity as a deposit

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Kyron GosseKyron Gosse
    Participant
    @roadhog260

I’m new to investing, I have my first property valued at 368k and a mortgage of 297k, rented out at 310 pw, I want to get serious about property investment and have been reading all the magazines and books, but one thing none of them are actually all that clear about is how exactly I can use my equity as a deposit. If someone could explain this is simple english I would be very greatfull. Would it also make any difference if my house is in New Zealand and I want to purchase my next in Australia?

Kyron Gosse
    http://www.kyrongosse.com

Build Wealth, Create Freedom, Do Awesome

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Roadhog

Yes it is fairly simple all you would do is refinance the current property to 90% of the valuation (In your case $368,000 x 90% = $331,200 ) and then use the difference between the new loan and your existing loan of $297,000 as the deposit and sufficient to cover acqusition costs.

Split the loans so you know whiich loan relates to which property and this also helps if one loan is not tax deductible.

Hope this helps.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of Ryan McLeanRyan McLean
    Participant
    @ryan-mclean

Most people only draw the equity out to 80%. If you go higher than 80% (say 90%) then you often have to pay lenders mortgage insurance. Most investors try to avoid this.

Currently your LVR (loan to value ratio) is only 80.7%.

Basically how it works is you increase the loan with the bank. Because the value of the property is higher the bank lets you borrow more money. You take out an equity loan on your current property and you receive this in cash.

You can then take that cash and use it as a deposit for anther property.

Does that make sense?

Ryan McLean