All Topics / Help Needed! / Asset Protection Permit

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of The ImmigrantThe Immigrant
    @the-immigrant

Hi Everyone.
    Just want to pick your thoughts on Asset Protect Permit required by council. It's my first time to hear about it. Council requires the owners of the property to pay a bond before start of any building construction. This is to ensure that the property owners restore the footpath or nature strip if ever it is damaged during building construction. Shouldn't this be the responsibility of the builder? Is it common practice that builder are required to repair any damage done to the footpath or naturestip if they damaged it during construction.

Thanks.

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates

yep, standard practice. Also tree protection. Make sure your builder pays not you.

Profile photo of The ImmigrantThe Immigrant
    @the-immigrant

The invoice is addressed to us as property owners. Does that mean I should be giving the invoice to the builder for him to pay the permit and bond?

Profile photo of colinnewlandcolinnewland
    Participant
    @colinnewland

Is it a bond that you get a 100% refund or is it a permit, with a defined cost?
    If it is a bond, its that the total of your liability or just a 'part payment'?
    Seems to me to be just another scam to get more money out of land owners (I refer also to the 'development contribution' for 'alledged upgrade of the community (I was under the understanding that what local rates are for….taking 2 bits at the same cherry.

@the-immigrant

The permit fee which is $200+ is non-refundable, but the bond which is $1300+ will be refunded once final inspection is satisfactory to council.
    What i want to know is, will the builder be paying for this permit and bond?

Participant
    @scott-no-mates