All Topics / General Property / TOO SCARED TO SPEND

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of condevcondev
    Participant
    @condev

Hi guys/gals

As a small business owner, I have noticed a huge drop in work in what is normally my seasonally busy time.
    I put this down to the average Australian being scared of what the future holds. Shopping centres are very quite as well. I wonder now this is going to impact on property investment?  I wonder if other small business owners are experiencing a similar downturn?

kind regards
    George Smit

Profile photo of PaulliePaullie
    @paullie

Your not the only one, my brother just closed his small business of 9 years.

Profile photo of condevcondev
    Participant
    @condev

Hi Paullie,
    Sorry and saddened to hear that

Profile photo of PaulliePaullie
    @paullie

He is a skilled software engineer, so its ok for him, hes moved onto a job paying 120k base, potentially he can earn a lot more.

Hes happier as well.

Profile photo of JPCCMJPCCM
    @jpccm

Won’t affect property I don’t think. Plus if people keep worrying about the future when is anyone going to try and make money?
    I find it interesting that a lot of people worry bout money. And worry about long term. Has anyone done there research and no that some of the richest expanded there wealth by 19% more during the GFC?

Profile photo of Nemo30Nemo30
    @nemo30

My dad and his partner own a small Mitre10 store, they've noticed a real slowdown in the last 12- 18 months, however have picked up a bit in the last 2 months (possibly related to publicity from 'The Block').   They are keeping their head above water at the moment, but spending is definitely down. 

I've noticed a lot of empty shops at our local shopping mall as well.

Profile photo of keikokeiko
    Participant
    @keiko

Start spending your money people, it will help alround.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Tis an interesting observation.