All Topics / Finance / preparing for the worst – economic meltdown

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of redcakeredcake
    Participant
    @redcake

Hello, I am just starting out on my investment journey and have signed up for Steve's training package (course). It's been said to prepare for the worst and hope for the best, so I am wondering if anyone can tell me what is likely to happen to interest rates if there was a depression? will they go up, or will they come down?
    Thanks
    Redcake

Profile photo of N@thanN@than
    Participant
    @n-than
    redcake wrote:
    Hello, I am just starting out on my investment journey and have signed up for Steve's training package (course). It's been said to prepare for the worst and hope for the best, so I am wondering if anyone can tell me what is likely to happen to interest rates if there was a depression? will they go up, or will they come down?
    Thanks
    Redcake

Hi Redcake,

Usually if things start getting bad they will drop the interest rates to try and stimulate the economy, like what happened around the GFC. When things start getting better they will raise them little bit at a time, this also gives them room to move if things do turn around for the worst.

This is put very simply, there are alot of other factors they take into account when raising/lowering rates.

Cheers,

Nathan 

Profile photo of hbbehrendorffhbbehrendorff
    @hbbehrendorff

Our debt levels in real terms are double what they where just before the great depression.

You may have already seen some high end property sometimes sell for half price  eg: 4 mill property sell for 2 mill

I think its entirely possible that you could,  in some cases see the same type of deals done on average houses.