All Topics / Help Needed! / Renovating in country Victoria

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of DreamingBigDreamingBig
    Participant
    @dreamingbig

Hi All,

This is my very first time on this forum and I only signed up today. There seems to be so much information on here which is great.

My husband and I have a big dream to become full time property renovators within five years or so. We bought our first home in 2008 and are now looking at buying our first IP. I have read magazines, books, websites, watched dvd's and considered attending a seminar or two but I find a lot of the information is very conflicting. Can anyone point us in the right direction of useful renovating for profit advice? Any help would be much appreicated.

As we don't have a lot of equity or buying power with our salaries, we were thinking of buying something is country Victoria (maybe the Latrobe Valley) at a lower price bracket and see how we go with our first renovation before trying something closer to Melbourne. Is this a wise idea? I assume that its better to get started within a smaller price bracket and in a regional area that wait a few years before we can afford something in Melbourne.

Once again, any help would be very greatly appreciated.

Miranda

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Hi Miranda

If you intend on doing a lot of the reno work yourself, then you are going to have to be within a reasonable commute of the reno property.  Otherwise you'll spend heaps of money on petrol, and you'll get very very tired.