All Topics / General Property / Capital growth in Sydney

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Joel0430Joel0430
    @joel0430

Im pretty new to property (as you might have noticed by my spamming of new topics lately! haha) so i need some of the basics.

I want to buy an apartment / townhouse / villa in Sydney’s Inner West. How can i judge capital grown in this area in general. And more importantly, how can i pinpoint the best suburbs and streets to buy in?

I suppose my question is 2 fold… 1, does anyone have any specific advise on this area and which suburbs are set to go well over the next 5 years or so? And 2, what resources can i read up on to make my own call on the best place to buy?

Cheers
    Joel

Profile photo of ScottsdaleScottsdale
    Participant
    @scottsdale

Try and find out what past CG in the area has been and compare it with other relatable suburbs. If you can go back as far as 20 years, it would give you a better overall idea of the areas potential. The local council should be able to provide some good information on past performance. An educated buy in a 'well located' area should prove itself over the years as a good IP.

The best thing to do is check the data in the back of any Australian Property Investor magazine as it's quite comprehensive. There's plenty of data online too of course, although you are usually charged for this information.

Here's a list for CG suburubs Australia-wide- http://www.smartcompany.com.au/construction-and-engineering/the-top-50-growth-suburbs.html. Did find some for Sydney but at a cost of $215 etc.

I have heard that the inner west is a good place to be investing as infrastructure development, residential land re-zoning, Gov spending and population are all on the increase in years to come. Plus house prices are a bit more affordable so it would be a good place to start.

Good luck!

Regards,

Derek

Profile photo of Joel0430Joel0430
    @joel0430