All Topics / Help Needed! / Buy First then Sell, or Sell First then Buy??

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of ChristinaMChristinaM
    Participant
    @christinam

We're upgrading our family home and can't decide on this.
    Should we sell our current home first, then buy a new one? Or should we buy a new one, knowing we'll have a place to move to, then sell our current home?

We need the equity in our current home to buy our new home, so that the mortgage insurance can be avoided.

If the settlement date of our current home is earlier than the settlement date of our new home, then it's ideal…
    However, this is all "depends" and "ifs".

Those who have faced the same problem, please help.. Any advice is appreciated.

Profile photo of ksherwellksherwell
    @ksherwell

Hi Christina

I'm a real estate agent as well as a financier and I come across this question each day.

The problem does have two sides
    1. sell first – can't find the right property
    2. buy first – have to sell your current home for a cheap price to ensure you can settle the purchased property.

Solution: its better to have the money in the bank, especially in a tough market when days on sale are exceeding 45days.  Sell the property 1st, get a long (90day+) settlement and ensure you have a unconditional contract before purchasing.

I would even extend to not looking at any properties until you are sold, you might get heart broken if you fall in love with  a property  and it gets sold.

Good Luck

Profile photo of ChristinaMChristinaM
    Participant
    @christinam
    ksherwell wrote:

Solution: its better to have the money in the bank, especially in a tough market when days on sale are exceeding 45days.  Sell the property 1st, get a long (90day+) settlement and ensure you have a unconditional contract before purchasing.

Thanks for the reply..
    A question..why a long settlement?