All Topics / Help Needed! / non-essential maintenance to satisfy tenant worth it?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of scullywaggsscullywaggs
    @scullywaggs

Hi everyone,

I am new to this game and I have one IP (small 3BR brick veneer) which is managed by an agency.  Its only been tenanted for 6 weeks and so far we have had IMO way too many phone calls from the agent. 

Today I got a call from the agent that the tenant has complained about the verandah; she says it is leaking onto the concrete floor below, growing moss which is a danger to her and her family.  She is also complaining about the pipe leading from the roof to the rainwater tank wich is 'drooping'.   Now I know the pipe droops; it has for many years and it is fine.  And the verandah does have a slightly dodgy drainage thing happening but that is how it was when she rented it.  My husband wants to do the repairs and be done with it.   The verandah does leak and to repair it will provide a much nicer home for the tenants, especially with winter coming on.  Plus these tenants indicated that they would like to stay on for a number of years and we'd to keep them happy. 

My question is this:  since neither of these issues are urgent, or arguably even necessary, would you upgrade them?  The verandah would simply require new fibreglass sheeting installed at a cost of somewhere around $1000, and the pipe is more a hassle than anything… maybe $100 tops?  BTW the agents have proven to be utterley useless in advising me as to what I am legally obilgated to do….. I am going to look into breaking my management contract with them and change agents.

Any thoughts would be appreciated :)

Profile photo of LalibellaLalibella
    Participant
    @lalibella

Yes as much as it hurts, its still probably worth it.
    If you keep the place tidy and in good repair it helps when you want to bump the rent up.