All Topics / General Property / Cost to build Low Rise Apartment buildings?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of WoulfgangWoulfgang
    @woulfgang

I've been thinking about building a low rise apartment building but I have no experience when it comes to cost, labor, and how long it would take to build from the ground up.

the idea I have for a building would have washers and dryers in the basement. it will be 2 stories above ground and there will be 12 above ground apartments all 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartments. I'll have 3 3bedroom apartments in the basement or 2 4bedroom apartments and keep one for my self.
         In every apartment there will be 3 plug outlets in each bedroom plus 1 Ethernet(internet) outlet. the living room will have 2 plug outlets and 1
    Ethernet outlet as will as a TV cable outlet, I was thinking about putting TV cable outlet in the bedrooms but I think that might be too much.
         For the floors I was thinking tile for the bathroom and wood cheap but not dirt cheap through out the rest of the house. for the kitchens I can get store bought cabinets as long as the counter tops are durable.
         I would like to put I think it's called H-Vac heating (pushing warm air around) in the apartment building but it might be cheaper to go with oil heating.

I think that's everything I don't have a blueprint design program so I don't know what square Ft the building will end up as. any information about how much a low rise apartment like this would take to build (from the ground up) would be appreciated.

PS: I like the idea of using solar power so I would like ideas on how I could add that into the building too.

Profile photo of WoulfgangWoulfgang
    @woulfgang

PS: I live in Canada, Newfoundland

Profile photo of beediebeedie
    Participant
    @beedie

Great vision however bit broad …….

Have you got a site if not have you looked into the purchase cost of a suitable site to accomadate the GFA of 12 apartments?