All Topics / General Property / Newby Investor 250k+ to spend

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of SpringChickenInvestorSpringChickenInvestor
    @springchickeninvestor

Hi Everyone,

I’m brand-spanking-new to this site and currently researching my first investment property. I’m a beginner so feel free to let me know if I’ve miscalculated/ misinterpreted anything.

I grew up with parents that invested in property on the side as a bit of a hobby/extra income so got some great experience with the basic of buying, renovating, renting and selling. They were more focused on buying beachfront, building or renovating  luxury homes and renting them as “holiday houses”. This is not the path I’m looking at going down at this stage.

I am also a trained Registered RE agent in NSW but only worked in the field for 9 months.  I mainly did comparative sales research and sales support during that time.

My now Husband and I bought are first Home in an established Sydney Hills when I was 18 with a 20% deposit (lots of saving savings!).  the property needed lots of work so we’ve been slowly renovating that ourselves on the odd w/e. I’m now 22 and this is our position:

• Bank Valuation of our current home: $550,000  (though I believe the market value is above this)

• Existing Loan: $381,000

• Other debts: $0

• Combined annual income: $115k

• (plus commission’s I earn and put aside for renovations and savings for maternity leave when we start a family- so not counting towards investment)

So we’re ready to buy our first investment and hoping to continue building our portfolio throughout our twenties and thirties.

Being a little on the safe side I’m looking to borrow approx $259k and purchase a 250k property (plus 9k stamp duty and fees). So between our 2 properties we will have loans totaling 80% of the bank value (to avoid mortgage insurance and give us some breathing space).