All Topics / Finance / Unhappy with Valuation – do we change lender?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of ZLBZLB
    @zlb

We have recently had our home valued to release equity in the property with our current lender. Unfortunately, the valuation came in so much lower than what we believed would be a conservative valuation. In fact, it almost feels like a joke, or a mistake, so our next thoughts were: should we take our business somewhere else?
    Our current Mortgage Broker has told us that there would be no point in doing that as every lender would use the same valuation company, however, I am not convinced.

While applying to release equity, we were told that we could also apply to fix the mortgage at the current rate, but now the Broker is advising us that we can't even do that….

I am new to all of this, but I do feel that some of the dots dont join up. Not only is it frustrating that we can not view the valuation, but then to be told we can't even fix our mortgage with the current lender?

Could someone please offer us advice on whether we should take this further or shop around for a new lender?

Thanks heaps!
    Zoe

Profile photo of god_of_moneygod_of_money
    Participant
    @god_of_money

How much the difference in terms of valuation ?

ANZ will give a free valuation…through breakfree package

Get the broker that know about how to do a deal

Profile photo of ZLBZLB
    @zlb

Our broker told us to put down $500k but we only expected between $450-$480k. The valuation came in at $400k….. the average median sold price in our area is $585k for houses, and $410 for units.
    Houses of the same quality and standard, but on a smaller block (by at least 300m2), are selling for at least $450k.

Does that sound right to you?
    Thanks for the info on ANZ. Will look into it!
    Z

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Zoe