All Topics / Help Needed! / 1 BR – easy to resell?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of ftchuaftchua
    @ftchua

Hi all,

Newbie here.

I am thinking of buying a 1BR (50sqm) in the Melbourne CBD, but I am not sure if the there is a healthy resale market for this kind of apartment size, if I eventually would decide to resell it down the road.

Can anyone give his 2cents?

Thanks for the responses in advance!!!

Profile photo of ALF1ALF1
    Participant
    @alf1

Hi Newbie.
    The Melbourne market is flooded with one bedroom apartments & student accomodation and I personally would not touch one with a 40 foot barge pole. Now a 2 bedroom is a different story and if it is the lower or cheaper end of the market you want to invest in, 2 bedroom minimum in an unit. Check out the link below for more info.

https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/property-investing/general-property/4336374

Profile photo of maria jayamaria jaya
    @maria-jaya

Hi There!

I am a newbie myself and seriously considering to buy a 1BR flat since that's the only kind of property I can afford at the moment.
    But they are mostly student accomodations and people's been telling me it's a bad idea.

What am I to do to ever own my own property then?

Profile photo of Aaron_CAaron_C
    Participant
    @aaron_c

Maria if you are having problems with affording your own place, that means that you are either limited by a) your income or b) your savings. For most people starting out the limiting factor is your savings. Therefore you have to buy a property that allows you to use maximum leverage, which may mean going up to a 95% LVR lend.

This is where the problem with 1 bedroom apartments in the CBD comes to a head – no one will lend you more than 80% of those property’s value – hence you will never be able to afford it anyway. Best to focus on areas outside the CBD where you can afford something with better leverage and get into the market.