All Topics / Help Needed! / Where to start?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Tony19Tony19
    @tony19

Hey all.

I'm just seeking a little advice on where to start.

I'm a qualified chef, food is my passion but I know for a fact that with the money that you earn as a chef will not make me financially independent later on in life, furthermore the hospitality industry does take a toll on your body/mind, whilst it's Ok for me now (age 23) I really do not want to be 40 years of age working 50-70 hours a week just to support my family and still only just breaking even.

Reasons to get into IP
    #1, For my future, I have seen heaps of people that are just happy to just break even every week, that's not me. I want myself and my family to live comfortably

#2, As food is my passion I want to have the backing to open a restaurant later on in life.

Where I'm at?

Live in Tasmania
    I'm 23 years of age
    I have about $5000 in savings, (currently putting away $400 p/w. Have a goal of reaching 10k by October).
    I have no debt nor do I have a credit card (Can this work against me? as I have never had a loan so I don't have a credit rating?)
    From the banking calculators online, I can borrow up to $144k on my salary over a 20 year period.
    I have no backing from Family or friends.

Outgoings
    Rent $127 p/w
    Car Rego annually + extras (tyres etc)
    Phone $50 p/m
    Internet $60 p/m
    Allow myself $100 p/w for other things.

ideas
    Well I have thought about heading to the mines as a chef for a couple of years, while this is a good idea it is really difficult to get a job without having a contact in the mines. The money would be almost double what I'm on now (from what I'm told and looked into) and would be a pretty decent deposit.

Save as much as I can over the next year or so, research and read, Talk to financial advisors over the next few months.