All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Capital gains tax

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of 2morroW2morroW
    Participant
    @2morrow

Hi!

I am a first home buyer, I live in St Kilda and obviously can't really afford to buy in this area without giving up my current lifestyle.  I have been playing with the idea of buying a place in geelong as a first home but don't really want to live in it, but would rather rent it out and cover the balance.  What are the implications of this tax-wise, is it a good idea?  I am a rookie!

Profile photo of Mr5o1Mr5o1
    Participant
    @mr5o1

If your careful.. it could be a very effective approach, tax wise.

However, you'd have to "move in" (think furniture, utilities, mail, etc) for the first 6 months. This would give you 2 advantages:
    1- you'd be eligible for the $7000 FHOG – which will go a long way towards the rent that your not getting, and
    2- thereafter you can extend the principle place of residence exemption for capital gains tax for 6 years,

Then, whilst the property is rented it will be negative geared, so the taxman and your tenant will help you pay off the house.

Profile photo of 2morroW2morroW
    Participant
    @2morrow
    Mr5o1 wrote:
    If your careful.. it could be a very effective approach, tax wise.

However, you'd have to "move in" (think furniture, utilities, mail, etc) for the first 6 months. This would give you 2 advantages:
    1- you'd be eligible for the $7000 FHOG – which will go a long way towards the rent that your not getting, and
    2- thereafter you can extend the principle place of residence exemption for capital gains tax for 6 years,

Then, whilst the property is rented it will be negative geared, so the taxman and your tenant will help you pay off the house.