All Topics / General Property / Good and Bad experiences with DHA properties..

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of N@thanN@than
    Participant
    @n-than

Hi All!

I am a constant reader of the forum however this is my first time posting so see how it goes…

I just wanted to get peoples feedback of Defence Housing Australia Investment Properties and any positive and negative experiences that they have had with them.

Just looking at my next IP and thought that could maybe be an option.

Any advice appreciated

Thanks,

Nathan

Profile photo of ajaydee73ajaydee73
    Participant
    @ajaydee73

What is the potential for capital gains? How long are they tied up with the defence force?

Profile photo of luke86luke86
    Participant
    @luke86

I have looked at DHA investments, however in my view they offered very low yields and not great prospects for capital gains (although my crystal ball may not have been working well at that time). They appear to be very 'safe' investments and so perfect for people who are risk adverse. However, due to their nature, there seemed to be very limited scope for purchasing under market value or value adding via extensions, major renovations or develpments.

Interested to know what other people think though.

Cheers,
    Luke

Profile photo of basbogbasbog
    Participant
    @basbog

Hi

I purchased one in Darwin 9 yrs ago, it was already a DHA when I brought it. The lease had a further 4yrs to run, no problems.
    The management fees are high, however you have no advertising, re-let fees etc. When lease was finished they repainted/ carpeted etc. In those days the returns were a lot better.
    I do not see any difference with a DHA verses the house next door as far as capital gains, renos, well they are basically new homes so why would you want too.
    You need to work out the figures etc and if it does what you want and you want a set and forget, go for it

Barry