All Topics / Help Needed! / National Rental Affordability Scheme (NRAS)

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of lamp1111lamp1111
    @lamp1111

Hi all, this is my first time putting a post here. Wondering if anyone heard of the government's National Rental Affordability Scheme? Is it worth investing in it? Thanks in advance!

Profile photo of TC62TC62
    @tc62

G'day Lamp.

NRAS is magic!
    It's a government scheme that provides an investor with a financial incentive of more than $91000 over 10 years TAX FREE!. Often, NRAS makes it possible to turn brand new properties into cash flow positive properties, including all the running costs associated with the property whilst receiving $35 – 45000 of tax benefits each year. What's not to like?
    However, there are strict criteria's with regards to the rent you can charge. The government just doesn't give out that kind of coin because they're nice politicians. NRAS was fundamentally developed to allow certain properties to remian affordable to certain demographics so usually the rent you can charge has to be at least 20% under market. Check it out, do the maths, but it is the closest you can get to a rental guarantee without paying through the nose to get it!
    Hope this has helped!

CHEERS!
    TC

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m
    Profile photo of lamp1111lamp1111
    @lamp1111

Thanks TC and Jamie, greatly appreciated

Profile photo of christianbchristianb
    Participant
    @christianb

I understand a company by the name of Onyx is doing a lot of NRAS aligned property at the moment. I can't endorse their offering, but I have dealt with them on other issues and they have been good to deal with. Might be worth checking out.

Profile photo of Kent CliffeKent Cliffe
    Participant
    @kent-cliffe

Like any investment decision don’t think in generalisations.