All Topics / General Property / Help… Bad tennants and damage

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 32 total)
  • Profile photo of RachelMRachelM
    @rachelm

Hi there,

I have joined up to explain my situation but I have found myself reading so many different post, what a treasure-trove. It's great that I have come across it.

I own an IP which I leased for a 1 year term, this is my first so I am new to all of this.

I spoke with the real estate approx a month ago and was advised that one of the tenants have moved out and that the lawn was overgrown, they are a little bit concerned about the remaining tenant being able to afford the property but they will keep an eye on things and will let me know of any problems.

The neighbour has phoned me saying that there are now three young boys living there, further more one of the windows is broken. They said there was a party over the weekend, and after that have heard banging wood noises from inside. Police have visited them asking about the people in my property.

I phoned the real estate to organise them carrying out an inspection and was told one had been booked in but no-one was there so it did not happen.

The real estate mentioned that it would be better for the tennants to break the lease and to get new people in, as they were struggling. And that any damage would be fixed before the new tennants move in.

What are my rights in this situation? What is the best way to handle this?

Many thanks
    Rachel 

Profile photo of cuteyoungchiccuteyoungchic
    Participant
    @cuteyoungchic

Hi Rachel,
    Which state are you in?
    In W.A., we have our Real Estate Institute of W.A. (REIWA), who have a "public enquiries" number for people in your situation, who are using a Property Manager.
    I'd start by finding out in whose name is the lease, so you have that information before you call your local Real Estate governing body.
    And TODAY'S a good day to start.   Don't delay.
    All the best,
    Cheers,
    Liz