All Topics / Help Needed! / Flooded House in Dalby

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Cat159Cat159
    Participant
    @cat159

I have an insurance question, I can't seem to find the answer to on the net.
    We have an investment property in Dalby, QLD. It was flooded a few times and is insured with Suncorp, so we are covered and Suncorp has signed off on the claim.
    HOWEVER we would like to do the house repairs ourselves (other than where a lic'd person is required eg sparky, pluming) as my partner is a carpenter /plasterer by trade.
    Suncorp are telling me that we can do that and submit quotes, but they won't pay him for his services being that it is our property?
    My question is – is this standard as I can't find any legislation that states this. He would not be benefiting as such as it would just replace the income he would otherwise be earning on someone elses flood affected property. Or is it possible to have Suncorp pay us out, either cancel the insurance (and insure elsewhere) or agree with them to remove the lifetime guarantee on repairs and we can then do the repairs ourselves.
    We buy renovate and sell anyway – so the experience it there and the intention is to keep this as a buy and hold.
    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Profile photo of RichardRichard
    Participant
    @mrbean

Cat,