All Topics / Commercial Property / Which is better CPI or % Increase

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of keikokeiko
    Participant
    @keiko

Which do you think is better to do CPI increase or a set % increase each year on your tenants rent?

Profile photo of commpropcommprop
    Participant
    @commprop

From experience, CPI has never reached anywhere near % increase on rents.

The highest in recent memory was like 4.0%? Rest of the years has been well below 5% which is what I have on my old lease! Getting a tenant to agree to this, however, would be a challenge!

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert and please don't take my advice as professional advice.

Profile photo of xdrewxdrew
    Participant
    @xdrew

Keiko, tenant is your golden goose. Flatten him with rent increases and you wont get any golden eggs. Make sure your rents are competitive and fair, but in the end you shouldnt be looking at the rents as your main supplement for income. The tenant should always be paying within 15% of the current rent level, and 10% of the current rent level if you are being strict. Make the rent change date the same each year .. so the tenant expects it.

Most of the deal with rental property is not to get rent from the tenant. Its to keep a tenant in the property, paying his way on a contribution to your welfare. The tenant leaves .. you have to re-advertise for a new tenant, repaint, fix things. There are significant costs with swapping tenants in and out of a property. So, a happy tenant is your golden goose. Respect him for this.