All Topics / Help Needed! / Property investment in Reservoir Vic

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of ShavlillyShavlilly
    @shavlilly

Hi Guys

I’m new to investing and looking to buy a property in Reservoir. I’m looking for a house on a large block approx 700sm. What should I pay for this and is it a good area.

Thanks

Profile photo of markh3084markh3084
    Participant
    @markh3084

I think its a good area for an IP. Large blocks are getting scarcer there so it might be a good spot for sub division or knock down and rebuild. I would not be paying more that the median price though for the suburb.   Reservoir has a broad mix of good and bad bits though. You would get a  feel for it pretty quickly by driving around the surrounding streets and having a look at the level of 'civic pride' displayed..

regards

Mark

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

It has good public transport by train and by tram from west preston.

Profile photo of CorieCorie
    Participant
    @corie

I did a quick valuation using pricefinder and for a block of 799sqm with a 3×1 weather board home un-renovated on Oconner St, Price finder estimates a price of 454k with a probable range of 391k to 517k. All the comparable sales looked very similar so I think 450k would be a fairly close estimate.

I dont know the area at all but I can see that Oconner St is about 4 streets away from the train station.

Profile photo of ShavlillyShavlilly
    @shavlilly

Thanks Guys.  Does anyone know the suburb. Is going through change?

Profile photo of markh3084markh3084
    Participant
    @markh3084
    Profile photo of ShavlillyShavlilly
    @shavlilly

What’s it like. What sort of change is it going through. Can’t see much for 450K with the block size of 700sm.

Profile photo of CorieCorie
    Participant
    @corie