All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Property ownership structure

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of hornbillhornbill
    @hornbill

Hi all,

I’m new here (my first post) and I’m also new to property investment. I’ve been reading about property investment and been feeling a little stress about property ownership structures – which really is not my area of expertise.

My wife and I own and live in a small 2 bedroom apartment. As we’re expecting our 1st child soon, we feel that we need a bigger place to stay. So, it’s either we sell our apartment and buy a bigger place or we keep it as investment, get an equity home loan (and do all the other property investment mumbo jumbo, as I just learn) and buy our new bigger primary residence elsewhere – most likely further away.

We decided to explore the later option. We bought the apartment using a join loan account and both our names are also on the property title. I’ve been reading that if you have investment property under a joint name, you will not be able to claim full tax and other negative gearing portion on it? My wife used to work. But with the baby on the way, I reckon she will be working even harder – looking after our newborn. :-). That leaves us with one income…

So:-

1) Is it true that if the property is under join names I can’t claim 100% of the expenses through tax? I’ve also recalled reading somewhere about CGT implication in this instance if the property is sold in the future.

2) What is an ideal thing to do for my situation? Should we buy our new primary residence property under single or join names? Should we also change our current property title to a single name (my name) in order to capitalise on the negative gearing better before renting it out? Or, any other suggestions?

3) I’ve been hearing from a colleague that changing property ownership can be a cumbersome process and quite expensive. Anyone got any knowledge of this area?