All Topics / Value Adding / Tax Breaks on Renos

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of jose2010jose2010
    Participant
    @jose2010

Hi All,

We are planning to renovate our 2 bedroom apartment, the theory being we renovate and hopefully within 12 months we buy a house and keep the apartment as an investment.

We are looking at installing timber floors in the living room and kitchen area, repainting, upgrading some of the light fittings, and put in a new kitchen.

The apartment is in a 36 year old block in north parramatta, sydney.

I am wondering if i will have access to tax breaks on these renovations and if so what proportions.

i am hoping to keep under a budget of $12K.

thanks for your help in advance

Jose

Profile photo of House CallHouse Call
    @house-call

I am no expert but I think your $12k is capital expenditure so it raises your capital base (relevant for CGT if you sell).

Then when you rent it out you can depreciate the $12k you spent.  (as opposed to claiming anything now. )

Profile photo of DHCPDHCP
    @dhcp

Hi Jose,

After your reno is done, get a qualified quantity surveyor to prepare schedule of depreciation.

This report gives the precise idea of how much you clam of depreciation from ATO and relevant for CGT.

Cheers Leo

Profile photo of jose2010jose2010
    Participant
    @jose2010

Hi Leo,

Thanks for your reply, do you know of a good quantity surveyor in Sydney?

thanks

Jose

Profile photo of Scott No MatesScott No Mates
    Participant
    @scott-no-mates
    Profile photo of AnaAna
    Participant
    @ana

We get a company discount with them. If you would like, send me an email and I'll give you our form to use with them so you get our discount.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

You can only get depreciation once it's an IP. Everything is depreciated, not just the renovated bits.