All Topics / Overseas Deals / Warnings about Investing in the US

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of RunwayRunway
    Participant
    @runway

I've been following this forum for quite some time now and have finally decided to post some observations with relation to the current US property market.

A simple search on the internet shows there is no end of Australian property spruikers who claim there are endless opportunities in investing in the United States. Likewise, there are also thousands of websites on the internet that are warning investors not to invest there for several reasons. Some of these reasons include; poor rental returns, investing in poor areas, buying overvalued properties etc.

I'm new to investing and I'm currently restructing my finances so I can invest in the United States. I'm not the most savvy investor on the planet but I do believe in good old fashion common sense.

Here are my observations as follows;

Warnings about one-stop-shop property spruikers:
    Consumer alert websites are currently advising to watch out for those Australian companies that offer a full service for US property market investing. These are the type of companies that provide legal and financial advice as well as act as buyers advocates in the US. Being careful about using these type of companies is a no brainer. However, my view is that if I pay a one-stop-shop company a fee to do everything and still get the return I want then it's a win-win situation for both parties.