All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Legal fees with buying a house

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of gammonbrusgammonbrus
    @gammonbrus

Hi all,

Complete noob here, just wanting to see if anyone knows what is involved in legal fees when purchasing a house (in Canberra if that makes a difference). Basically I had a quote for legal fees at $1200 and was told by someone “you can do it yourself, but it is not worth the hassle”.
    What exactly does legal fees cover, and can you do it yourself? Perhaps through a DIY legal document or something similar. If possible I would really like to not have to spend that extra $1200.
    Thanks
    Joe

Profile photo of MarJacMarJac
    @marjac

Depending on which State your in $1,200 does sound a bit expensive, unfortunitely I haven't dealt with ACT much so don't know the situation there, perhaps someone else may have more experience with the ACT

In Victoria you would expect a Solicitor to charge around $600 plus disbursements (approx $200) a Conveyancing agent maybe a little cheaper at $400-$500 plus the same for disbursements.
    FYI: Disbursements cover the costs of obtaining the relative property certificates i.e. Local Council info on rates and building approvals, Water & Road Authority for potential flood or changes to roads etc

You can DIY in most States however this can be more hassle than whats it worth and if you start off having no idea you can run the risk of missing something important.
    I have done my own conveyancing in the past but now couldn't be bothered and thats me with 20+ years experience in Banking Mortgages & Settlements etc

I could only suggest that you shop around a little with other solicitors and/or conveyancers

Profile photo of gammonbrusgammonbrus
    @gammonbrus

HI MarJac,

Thanks the reply mate. Looks like we should just hire someone else to do the work, discussed with the mrs its not worth potentially missing something important like you have mentioned.